Shoe Help: Carbon or not?
    RoadBikeReview Member

Shoe Help: Carbon or not?

I started riding 3 years ago, and as a newbie I went into my LBS and asked for shoes. I tried on a couple and picked the ones that felt best...and when I checked out I choked when I saw they were $220. I had, knowing nothing about road shoes, picked a carbon sole Nike shoes.

Fast forward three years: I have put a couple thousand miles on these shoes, and they are finally wearing out. The sole is coming off the shoe, and it is too old for Nike to exchange. So I am in the market for new shoes.

My dilemma is this: Having never ridden anything but a carbon sole shoe, I am hesitant to buy another shoe that doesn't have one. But I also know that some of the top shoes(Sidi to be precise) doen't ahve carbon soles. Is a shoe without a carbon sole a step down in durability? Will the change in materials be problematic for me to adjust to? I lke my current shoes well enough, but my feet sometime ache on the outside. Not sure if a step down in stiffness might actually help this.

Some notes about me as a rider: 5'11", 250lbs. I tend to mash, but I am not a gear killer. I ride 75-100 miles a week, and that is going increasing.

Shoes I have considered:
    Shimano R130(carbon parts, seems like a great deal)
    Shimano R215(Carbon sole, more expensive)
    I tried the Sidi shoes and they don't fit right
    Pearl Izumi Vortex 2

Any help you all can provide would be helpful!

Apr 2004

Not an expert