The Sounds of Silence (new chain and lube)
    My back hurts

The Sounds of Silence (new chain and lube)

I've been riding Chorus 10 speed since March 2001. I've always gone with a Campy 10 speed chain and used White Lightning as my lube. In fact, I'd been using WL since about '96. Recently, I switched to a Wipperman Connex chain and homebrew lube with mineral spirits and Mobil 1. I've only ridden about 175-200 miles since making the change, but I have to say the difference is amazing. Even with a brand-new Campy chain, I had a fair amount of noise. The drivetrain is now almost completely silent now in just about every usable gear combination. I don't know whether it's the chain, the lube, or a combination and also don't know whether the newly-achieved noise decrease will last, but I'm a happpy guy right now.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2004

can't be the chain...

I've used nothing but homebrew for about the last 6 seasons. I found the wipperman chain to be nosier than campy, using the same lube. Many chains retain there initial grease-type lube for a while. The chain may get a bit noisier after several applications of home brew.

Dry lubes often result in a noisy chain. The are generally cleaner, though.

I reapply the home brew (4/1 mix) nearly every ride if the conditions are dusty. It doesn't take much more time than simply wiping with a rag. My chains typically have less than half of the allowable maximum wear after 3000 miles, so I know it does a good job.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2004
    My Wipperman broke on a ride and I suppose if I didnt feel it skip first it might have hurt. Never happened with any Campy chains (I have had lots). I only had 2k on it and it was well maintained.

RoadBikeReview Member