SRAM Red Black brakes. Is this normal?
    RoadBikeReview Member

SRAM Red Black brakes. Is this normal?

Hi All,

I just received my sram red black brakes and noticed something strange. There are two brakes and I noticed that one has a longer mounting screw then the other. I am going to assume the one with the longer screw is the on for the front (When I refer to screw I am not talking about the actual bolt I know those come in various sizes). Now when I look at the pads the aero wing at the bottom of the pads are in the opposite direction to the front. Is this just an oversight during assembly or are they supposed to be mounted in reverse? And finally can I just reverse them myself?

I'm fairly new to road cycling so I don't completely understand certain things but I am fairly good with assembly. I build 5 mountain bikes and 1 cyclocross.

Thanks,
    S

Slightly Opinionated
    As for the first part of the question, the longer counter sunk nut is for the fork.

The second part, I couldn't tell you: been riding Ciamillo brakes for so long that I forget what way the fins point on regular calipers.
    Quote Originally Posted by bigrider View Post
    Teh Lounge- "Its not just for weirdos anymore. It is for those trying to escape the noobsauce questions."
    Quote Originally Posted by QuiQuaeQuod View Post
    Trolling the lounge is like noodling for piranha.

The Daily Grind Cycling Journal & Tailwind Coaching

RoadBikeReview Member
    Quote Originally Posted by robdamanii View Post
    As for the first part of the question, the longer counter sunk nut is for the fork.

The second part, I couldn't tell you: been riding Ciamillo brakes for so long that I forget what way the fins point on regular calipers.
    Thanks. So I believe they were mounted incorrectly from factory.

S

Slightly Opinionated
    Looking at my wife's bike, it looks like the flat part of the "shark fin" faces forward on the brake shoe.