Thread Locker question
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Apr 2014

Thread Locker question

I have a one-bolt carbon seatpost. The bolt for the saddle adjustment has thread locker on it. I've been using Prologo saddles now for 10 yrs & have found that with Prologo saddles it takes more time to set it up & multiple adjustments before finally finding sweet spot.

Also I've had a few instances of the saddle slipping & tilting all the way back. I had to really wrench on it to stop that. I've been using this post on what will be the 3 yr mark. I plan on changing to a Shimano Pro saddle with a cut-out.

The question is should I re-apply new thread locker to the seatpost bolt once I have the ideal position dialed in? How long does thread locker last especially if one is doing constant adjustments?
    Attached Images Attached Images

tlg
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Quote Originally Posted by stan01 View Post
    The question is should I re-apply new thread locker to the seatpost bolt once I have the ideal position dialed in? How long does thread locker last especially if one is doing constant adjustments?
    Yes reapply. It may work a 'little' bit the second time, but not likely enough. It get's brittle and just breaks away and doesn't do anything.
    Assuming you're talking about traditional blue loctite.

There are other types which stay flexible and are reusable. I've never used them, but if it's something you think you'll be adjusting frequently, it may be worth a try.
    https://www.amazon.com/Vibra-TITE-VC.../dp/B008D6GHY6
    https://www.vibra-tite.com/threadloc...-3-threadmate/
    Custom Di2 & Garmin/GoPro mounts 2013 SuperSix EVO Hi-MOD Team * 2004 Klein Aura V

RoadBikeReview Member
    Oct 2013
    To reapply traditional locktite, you will have to remove the bolt for reapplication, correct?