Upgrade Suggestions?
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Sep 2011

Upgrade Suggestions?

I purchased a Specialized Secteur Sport. It has Shimano Sora levers, Sora front derailleur, Tiagra rear derailleur, Shimano FC-R453 Crank with a triple 50x39x30. Since this is my first road bike in 30 years it was a good place for me to start. I've been riding for 4 months now and i'm up to about 50 miles per week with my goal being to ride in a century next summer. I envision my mileage continuing to increase over time. Typical roads are fairly flat but have some fairly good size hills that I have to deal with.

I actually like the triple front crank so i'm not in a hurry to get rid of those and I don't think I will be getting into racing so moving to lightweight components doesn't make a lot of sense to me.

My issues are that I don't like the thumb shifter on Sora levers so I'd like to upgrade those to maybe 105? Do they make a 105 for a nine speed with a triple crank? If not any other suggestions?

My other issue is that even after the bike recently came back from LBS it still doesn't shift real well either up or down on the front derailleur. I recognize some of this might be user error as i continue to learn how to ride but even when i'm on my trainer it seems as if 50% of the time when i shift it doesn't catch. Based on comments I've read on other posts it appears that changing the front derailleur won't have much impact. Will upgrading my crank to a 105 make a big difference?

Any suggestions or help would be appreciated. Thanks.

RoadBikeReview Member
    for the FD, maybe try a different bike shop for a different point of view?

Shimano does not make new 105 9 speed shifters, that would be 5500 and 105 10 speed is called 5600 or 5700(5700 being the newest with different cable routing that goes under the bars.)

Triples are great for hills and endurance riding, glad you like it!