700x28 cross tires
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Apr 2012

700x28 cross tires

I plan on running a few cross events this season and since I'm a noob to the sport, I'm just going to run my road bike.

700x30s aren't going to work for me as they rub my fork and chainstays.

Does anybody know of or run themselves some 700x28s?

It looks like there are no options as far as "real" cross tires, but I was thinking

Vittoria Radonneur Cross
    Conti Top Contact
    Kenda Karve

Anyone have experience with doing what I'm going to do and could share some of their knowledge of crossworthy 700x28 tires?

Thanks!

RoadBikeReview Member
    World Class Cycles offer FMB tubulars in 700x28 but you are right most are 30-33mm wide. As for the road bike for cross racing, I suspect if the weather turns foul, well that is simply not going to be a good time with a road frame and would suggest you consider building up a budget cross bike because this is definitely an addictive form of racing.
    There may not be an 'I' in team but there is a 'U' in suck!
    __0
    _ \ |_
    (O)/ (O)

RoadBikeReview Member
    Apr 2012
    Yeah, I wanted to get a few races in before I committed to the sport in buying a new bike.

I'm banking on a dry fall and early winter here in Denver so I don't have a mud issue.

Thanks for the quick reply, though. I am running clinchers, by the way.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jan 2004
    Do you have a mountain bike? Or access to one? That might be a better option than your road bike.

Alternately... any good shops in town? What about a "test riding" for a race or two?

RoadBikeReview Member
    Apr 2012
    I do but because of its weight, I would only take it if I KNEW that there was going to be substantial mud.

Test rides are out. My frame size is a 64. Nobody stocks 64.

Anyone else? 700x28c tires for dry cyclocross?

RoadBikeReview Member
    Mar 2004
    Maybe a Conti. 700x30 Speed? Conti. tires are smaller than a same size Michelin so maybe it would fit?