Cyclocross bike for 24 hrs of Allamuchy?
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Oct 2002

Thumbs up Cyclocross bike for 24 hrs of Allamuchy?

A friend of mine is trying to talk me into racing at the 24 hours or Allamuchy in August as a member of a four man team. I hear it is a pretty punishing course best suited to FS MTBs. My MTB was stolen about two years ago and I don't MTB race enough or have enough money, for that matter, to go out and buy a MTB. The way I see it, I think I can get a great two-fer if I plug $500-600 into my SS crosser, building it up with gears, a new crankset, probably a MTB crankset to give me some low gears, and probably a few other incidentals that will make it a really great ride come cross season. I have a set of Sun 0 degree XC rims that I will have retensioned and will mount big ol' 29er tires on to give me some cushion.

What I'm interested in finding out is if any of you guys use your CX bike as a MTB, and how it performs?

What gearing are you running, so that you can still manage some of the really steep climbs that come up in MTBing? Would a 29 or 32 chainring be enough with a 12-34 in the rear?

Does it make more sense to keep my roadie drops on the bike or should I switch to a flat bar?

What type of brakes do you use? I find my hands can get tired because my canti's (Avid 4s) aren't that strong. Are there some better options with more power?