Disc brake newbie question, about mixing wheels/hubs/rotors
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Mar 2011

Disc brake newbie question, about mixing wheels/hubs/rotors

Hi,

I have ordered a new cx disc frame + a pair of avid BB7 road. I am completely new to the disc world (I'm not Rincewind).

This bike will serve as both a commuter and a CX race bike. I will probably use at least 3 different wheelsets (1 for the road, two for CX with different tubulars) and will have to build them in the next 3 weeks before my first CX of the year. As much as possible, I'd like to be able to swap wheels without needing to much tuning/alignement/setup.

About the wheel changes :
    -can I mix hubs from different brands and type (center lock / 6-bolt) or should I keep using the same model for all my wheelsets to avoid a re-alignement..
    -can I mix different rotor models or is the width standardized and respected ?
    -should I rotate the rotors every few weeks to minimize wear difference ?

About the BB7 rotor and pad quality :
    -are the standard pads OK or should I switch to another type/brand ?
    -are the Avid G2 rotors OK ? Are there better, lighter and or cheaper alternatives ? I will have to buy a batch of rotors shortly.

I know these are a lot of questions, I've done some MTBing but never owned an MTB. As much as I can, I like to do the wrenching myself.

Thanks very much already !

User
    Jun 2012

Quote Originally Posted by T0mi View Post
    Hi,
    -can I mix hubs from different brands and type (center lock / 6-bolt) or should I keep using the same model for all my wheelsets to avoid a re-alignement..
    I would buy all the same to minimize the need to adjust
    Same as above
    No

Yes, no
    -are the Avid G2 rotors OK ?
    yes

Are there better, lighter and or cheaper alternatives ?
    Yes but the difference won't be noticeable
    I hope this helps

First one home gets beer
    Compressionless housing helps too.

J-K
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Nov 2006