Disc brake wheelset - suggestions?
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Nov 2005

Disc brake wheelset - suggestions?

Hey there,

Must preface this by saying that I'm a total noob to the road/cross world.

I have a build in progress in which the frame/fork are both disc compatible and it seems a shame not to utilize them. I'm tempted to grab a set of wheels from one of my 29er MTB's and use them, but think they may be a bit overkill, not to mention that I'll have to get a set of wheels to put back on the MTB.

If I'm looking for cross specific wheels, what should I be looking for in terms of rim width etc?

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
    Mike

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2009
    I believe ZTR makes a version of thier alpha road rim with MTB disc hubs that may be right up your alley if they are in your price range.

Great White North
    I've got a set of Mavic Speed City wheels that I'd part with, they'd be great for a cx disc bike, 19mm rim width, 6 bolt disc mounts, UST rims (tubeless ready).

Generally, you'll probably not be able to take advantage of a wide rim with the limited clearance a cross frame has anyway...

Plum
    This post is in 3B, three beers and it looks good, eh!

Iohannes fac totum
    Mar 2008
    [QUOTE=Plum
    Generally, you'll probably not be able to take advantage of a wide rim with the limited clearance a cross frame has anyway...

Plum[/QUOTE]

Great White North
    Meaning, a wide rim with a 35-40c cross tire doesn't make a lot of sense, as there will be little to no sidewall bulge, and most cross frames won't clear a wider tire (and the corresponding) wider rim.

Another way to look at it is, the wider the tire, the wider the rim to spread it out and add volume. A narrower tire (35's say) doesn't need a wide rim.. Unless we're talking about a monstercross setup, then a wider rim really won't be necessary.

Quote Originally Posted by 88 rex
    Plum

Iohannes fac totum
    Mar 2008