Forgive my ignorance - categorization question
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2008

Forgive my ignorance - categorization question

I'm new to bike racing in general, but I do understand how the Cat thing works. My question is for CX races where it seems there is a lot of overlap between races.

A race this upcoming weekend has 3 main categories (not including masters/ss) - Cat 4, Cat 3/4, and Cat 1/2/3. What's the deal with the two race overlap for cat 4, and then the two race overlap for 3? In these scenarios how is it determined which race you ride in?

Sorry for the newbie question, just curious.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Oct 2010
    Quote Originally Posted by Halebopp
    I'm new to bike racing in general, but I do understand how the Cat thing works. My question is for CX races where it seems there is a lot of overlap between races.

A race this upcoming weekend has 3 main categories (not including masters/ss) - Cat 4, Cat 3/4, and Cat 1/2/3. What's the deal with the two race overlap for cat 4, and then the two race overlap for 3? In these scenarios how is it determined which race you ride in?

If you think your faster Cat up.

Do not touch the trim.
    Sep 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by Halebopp

This is mostly done to allow people to do multiple races, you'll notice they typical space these overlap races an hour oe so apart to allow for recovery. This is also pretty standard on the road for Crit racing also.

The Dropped 1
    I think it is to be able to do multiple races (sometimes people have a far drive, so it helps to - for our series anyway - be able to pay an extra $5 for extra events and increase the race time), but also to test your ability. Cat 3/4 is going to be easier (or it should be) than 1/2/3, and cat 4 would likely be a lot of beginners or first year racers.