Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

How "proven" are carbon fiber forks and carbon fiber seat stays?

6K views 25 replies 16 participants last post by  haikalah 
#1 ·
I'm new to the world of cyclocross bikes and was curious how proven (for durability) are carbon fiber forks and seat stays? Have they been incorporated on these bikes for awhile now or are these new features to help lighten the bikes and improve their comfort?

I would hate to drop $2000 for one of these high end bikes and then have durability issues with the carbon fiber. I watch a lot of F1 and those cars have a lot of cf parts, and when they break, they fail big time and just shatter. That'd suck on a bike, IMHO.

Any insight?

#3 ·
dfleck said:
They don't just snap
remember. Plenty of CF MTB frames are out there. Every fork will differ as companies use diffrent tech. I've never seen one break in a race but like all equipment, there will be some that fail.
Carbon fiber mountain bikes a relatively new phenomenon. 1-2 years ago I don't think you could find anybody outside of maybe Kestrel making them. Now many of the biggies have jumped on board, but I just wonder how proven the material is.

As for how they break, I know when a carbon fiber suspension part on an F1 car breaks, it tends to just snap (or fail catastrphically). Are mountain bike parts made from CF designed or made in a different way to allow them to not fail so dramatically.

#4 ·
I have seen carbon bars and seatposts break, and Trebon had bar slipage probs in Boulder. I have seen the pics of Nys' C50 broken from crashing, also seen plenty of Alu/Steel frame brake too. Trebon/Wicks/Caveman run carbon rear ends, Spcialized has midlevel bikes with carbon rear, Haven't seen them break, no recall notices that I am aware of. Carbon forks are everywere,