Spend my money: Scott Addict CX or new Stigmata frame and carbon tubulars?
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Nov 2006

Spend my money: Scott Addict CX or new Stigmata frame and carbon tubulars?

I'm trying to decide where to spend my money for next season.

Choice one is a Scott Addict CX complete bike, 17 or so pounds w/ ultegra components and ksyrium clincher wheelset.

Choice two is to upgrade my frame to a Stigmata, get a new crank set and buy new deep dish carbon tubular wheels. I currently have an 07 JtS w/ 105 drivetrain and upgraded fsa stem, bars, seatpost, etc. and ec70x tubular wheels.

My goal is to start finishing in the top 5 of our local A races next season, last year I was consistently top 10. Which would make me faster? (I'm also trying to improve though training as well...)

RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2004

Just my .02 cents..

Okay, I'm gonna lay it out to you like this.. I've been riding for 22 years, racing most of that time.. Training helps so much more than all that crap combined.. I'd say upgrade the JTS to DA, forget the wheels, stay with what you got or get a back up set of like DT240 hubs on Reflex rims.. I guarantee you, like totally guarantee you, you take two bikes, with different wheels and you'll do the same.. As a matter of fact, I would think (I'm no engineer) that those deep dish wheels take more effort to get going than the wheelset I'm talking about just due to rim wt.. Call me crazy, but that's just been my experience.. I'm 38, ride a cannondale cross frame with Easton fork, DA and DA hubs on Reflex rims.. You could get more wheelsets for different surfaces and save that dough for a coach or something that will help you with your training.. I've ridden some of the best stuff out there and I do just as well with my "simple" set up as with the "bling" set up... All I did was blow a lot of cash thinking I was going to get better..

(If you ride a lot in deep mud then I can see the need maybe for the wheels, but other than that...)