what is the difference in handling between a cross vs. road bike
    RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2009

what is the difference in handling between a cross vs. road bike

Hi. I'm new to the whole road thing. I'm a mountain biker, and i don't plan on racing road. But I was looking at getting a road bike for training. I don't have a ton of money so I've had a few friends suggest getting a cross bike (as i've expressed some interest in trying cross someday). They say it's the best of both worlds, because i can buy a cross bike and a pair of slicks and use it for training to get some long road rides in, and I can race cross,and only need to buy one bike.

I know the real difference is wider forks and rear for wider tires and mud clearance, and slacker head and seat tube angles. But what does that translate to as far as the feel of the bike on the road?

Basically I can only afford to spend around $1500 (Canadian) can stretch to $1600. And I can get a Cannondale Caad9 5 for a road bike at the price or I can also get a good deal on a Giant TCX 1 for slightly cheaper. The TCX 1 has Rival vs the 105 on the caad9 which makes the Giant seem like a really good deal. Any thoughts?

Formosan Cyclocross
    This has all been covered ad nauseum, but I understand RBR Search is not the most accurate search tool.

The difference may or may not be much depending upon the bike, the geometry and the componentry. The only thing I really notice with mine is the feeling of the higher BB on curvy descents. Some bikes people use for CX are simply road bikes that can take fatter tires and cantilever brakes. Many CX bikes have relaxed geometries, similar to distance/sportive/comfort/touring bikes while many, but not all dedicated road bike designs put the rider down a little more aero. A CX bike should probably not have skinny carbon stays... and stuff like that.

RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2009
    thank you.

Sorry for repeating the question.

Formosan Cyclocross