Lance and Testosterone
    Wheelsucker

Lance and Testosterone

I would love to hear a response from a Doctor on this question. Since LA essentially lost at least one, if not BOTH of his testis, does he take Testosterone? If so, wouldn't this give him a HUGE step up on his competition, essentially an approved steroid user????

Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2003
    I'm not a doctor but this issue has been covered before, and the answer is Lance lost one testicle and still has the other, and that one is just as good as two since the one that is left ramps up production and you end up with your normal testosterone levels again. So no need to take testosterone replacement, and even if he did it's not certain that it would offer any advantage to endurance performance especially as he would be taking physiological levels not the supra-physiological levels that even bodybuilders/weightlifters take to produce their freakish muscle gains.

RoadBikeReview Member
    I've heard this one before. However, the testicle still in him is sterile. His children were made possible from withdrawls for the sperm bank he made deposites too before chemo. Why should we assume a sterile testicle still produces testosterone.

As for performance enhancer, is it not on the banned list?

I'm on a time-out/temporary ban
    Quote Originally Posted by mellowman
    I've heard this one before. However, the testicle still in him is sterile. His children were made possible from withdrawls for the sperm bank he made deposites too before chemo. Why should we assume a sterile testicle still produces testosterone.

Assuming you're correct, I imagine there's a medical sanction that allows him to take a supplement and also set parameters to prevent any advantage if there would be one. He's been tested over a hundred times, if he had testosterone coming out his ears I'd think someone would have said something, don't you?

RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2003