Kilo TT Belt Drive Conversion
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2013

Kilo TT Belt Drive Conversion

Thought I'd share this as I've seen a couple of folks discussing/asking about the possibility of making a fixie belt-driven bike.

The answer is yes! It took a bit of time, money, patience, and ALOT of research. In the end, I'm pretty happy with how it turned out.

A quick bit of background... I recently got a new bike so I was retiring my old Kilo TT daily commuter. I have no metal working experience (and it shows) and somewhat limited bike assembly experience (I perform maintenance on my bikes and some minor upgrades) so I spent a lot of time researching how to do some pretty basic things (like how to remove a BB). Luckily I didn't make any major mistakes or have to redo anything. I'm also not going to get into nor explain why I wanted a fixed gear belt driven bike... it tends to be a polarizing topic (especially on this forum) so if you're interested, please read on.

As all of you know, the belt in a belt drive system cannot break like a chain, so in or order to slip the belt inside the rear triangle, the frame itself has to "break". After some research, I decided on a coupler made by Paragon Machine Works. The coupler came in the diameter I needed for the seat stay.

IMG_00002650.jpg

With coupler in hand I proceeded to cut the seat stay (right one). I measured from the outside edge of the coupler (the exposed parts that do not slot into the seat stay) and cut a section of the tube a hair shorter so that I can file it down to the exact measurement later. Since the coupler has about 1/4 inch of a smaller diameter section that sits inside the seat stay tube, I knew I had to bend the seat stay at the cut-out to actually fit the coupler in. Given that the Kilo is steel this wasn't much of an issue.