Pawn Shop Purchase
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2007

Smile Pawn Shop Purchase

Hello,

I've been searching for an old bike to turn into a FG and found this Schwinn Le Tour at a pawn shop for $50. Offered them $35 and they accepted. I'm new to this and don't really know what I'm doing but I think I got a great deal. What do you think? Is this a good candidate for a FG conversion?

Thanks,
    Kevin
    Attached Images Attached Images

RoadBikeReview Member
    Nice. Hope there's nothing wrong with it mechanically.

There are some that can be against making that a FG because of the rear dropout. One quick google and the spacing in the rear is likely 126mm - which a few spacers or whatnot might able to deal with.. I can't see why an SS conversion can't happen, but I'm not entirely sure with going fixed.

There's no rust on the frame either? You got quite the deal. I'd just make it into a really nice road bike.
    Last edited by Ventruck; 08-08-2009 at 08:42 PM.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Mar 2009
    35.00 that is a great find.

waterproof*
    Those old freewheel hubs are the kind that the thread matches that of track cogs. And, an old BB lockring.

So if you can find the right tool to pull that freewheel (LBS) then you don't need a new hub.

Cat 6 rider
    You've got a great old retro machine. No need to butcher it. You want SS- put it in one gear and don't shift. (The drive train appears to have been updated, but man, those look like the original [or at least correct] gray cable sheaths). If you're determined though, send me an email. I might want to buy those pedals if the bearings are good.
    To the troll mobile, away...

RoadBikeReview Member
    Apr 2009
    Excellent buy! Looks like it is in superb shape.