Track build

Thread: Track build

RoadBikeReview Member
    Sep 2009

Track build

I'm pretty new to this whole track thing but i have been around 'street fixed' or whatever the hell you darn hipsters are calling it these days.
    Ive been itching to build up a relativley cheap track racing bike for my local velodrome and hopefully get out there this summer and race.
    My budget is going to probably be in the range of 950 to 1200. This includes track fees and registration so keep that in mind.
    Links would also be a help, thanks

duh...
    ok, so what are the track fees and registration?

Quote Originally Posted by mikagsd
    Fat tire Fred....you are the bike god of the universe and unless someone agrees with your reasoning they are just plain stupid

RoadBikeReview Member
    Sep 2009
    track registration is 60$
    30$ for bike certification
    and 10$ evertytime you visit

RoadBikeReview Member
    I would start out on craigslist and find yourself a cheap vintage bike with a frame worthy of building. If you cant find someone selling a frame with horizontal dropouts(fixed frame) then it needs to be semi-horizontal.

I find this to be the easiest way so if it has some parts worthy of using you can save a little $$$ and not have to buy everything new.
    "If you cant fix it with a hammer, you got yourself an electrical problem"

m_s
    oh lonesome road for you
    Nov 2007
    I don't think an old road frame is a good idea at all. I know very little about track racing, but bicycles used for it have very different geometry. A conversion would likely be too sluggish handling, or have too low a bottom bracket, or both.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Apr 2007
    The Van Dessel track frame jumped to mind.

Scratch that. It's $1K.
    Last edited by mendo; 01-08-2010 at 09:32 PM.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Quote Originally Posted by m_s