First road bike in 20 years
    RoadBikeReview Member

First road bike in 20 years

I've almost always been a mountain biker. Even as a kid I took my road bike off road and basically destroyed them. I've been riding a Specialized Stumpjumper FSR for a couple of years, and love it, but it's the only bike I have. I've been putting on some XC semi slics to ride on the road whenever the trails are too wet. Well, I'm getting tired of lugging around my 29lb mountain bike on a 40 mile ride with some hills. I get annoyed that I don't have the proper gearing to go faster on the road so I bought a new road bike. I got a Fuji Roubaix. I know it's not a high end bike, but I didn't want that. This thing feels way faster and lighter, and I actually had some fun riding it this morning. I'm getting some clipless pedals later today because I can't stand the crappy pedals that I have on there. The frame size is 61cm and it weighed 20lbs 8oz. If I find that this starts cutting into my trail time I'll upgrade a few parts to make it lighter, but for now it's perfect.

Fuji Roubaix

Comparison between my bikes:

Opposites

RoadBikeReview Member
    Dec 2008
    Congrats on the purchase, I'm riding a Pro model of the same bike and I am liking it a lot. Still feel like it was an incredible value for my $. It has some parts I will upgrade at some point, but as is I can't complain so far.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jun 2009
    I'm in the same boat. I am a trail guy but got tired of not riding when the trails were wet so I got the Roubaix RC. Great bike for the money. Haven't gone on a real ride yet, just roll around my neighborhood.

photo (3).jpg

Rub it............
    I'm currently sporting the Roubaix Pro myself. Other than a few issues with the front shifting (not a huge Shimano fan) this bike is great. Only other thing is that the wheelset has a ton of room for improvement, in which I should have my new wheelset next week.

RoadBikeReview Member