Advice on used road bikes
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Nov 2020

Advice on used road bikes

Hi all! I’m new to distance riding and road bikes, and am also starting to train for a half Ironman. I currently have a fixie that I ride around the neighborhood with the family, but want something that will leave me the ability to run the last leg!

Anyways, I’m looking at two bikes from the mid 80s: Trek 400 (https://detroit.craigslist.org/okl/b...213981713.html) and Schwinn Tempo (https://annarbor.craigslist.org/bik/...206879109.html)

I really appreciate any advice you all can share. Thanks!

RoadBikeReview Member
    Oct 2013
    The one in annharbor has a new seat & tires, the rest looks about the same. The other one has very narrow bars.
    OK for training, when you get serious you'll need another bike.
    BANNED

RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2010
    Probably not a good sign that you are considering on that doesn't list a size. Maybe you talked to the seller and know that but if not you really need to learn what size you need and make that your #1 criteria.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Nov 2020
    Thanks for the advice! If both were to fit me well, is anything objectively “better” about one bike over the other?

xxl
    Quote Originally Posted by jwrice5 View Post
    Thanks for the advice! If both were to fit me well, is anything objectively “better” about one bike over the other?
    Not really. The Schwinn started out life with a somewhat better level of components than did the Trek, but that's been about thirty-five years, so a lot of miles, differing wear/maintenance/riding habits/etc. make that no longer a consideration.

The advice of others, i.e., to concern yourself first and foremost with the bike that fits you, is paramount. They do not appear to be the same size, so let that inform your choice.
    Donald Trump has never had a wife he didn't cheat on.

Donald Trump has never won a popular vote in a governmental election.