back muscle tightness
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2006

back muscle tightness

I have been bicycling for about 14 years and average about 150 to 250 miles per week year around. For about the last couple of years I have been experiencing a minor back discomfort that has increased somewhat as my conditioning and power has increased steadily. I frequently have muscle tightness/aching in the muscles that run parallel to my spine about halfway up my back.This discomfort does not occur while on my bike but occurs at work or home while standing for a considerable period of time. It does seem to be worse after I have done a longer(60 to 100 miles) the day before so i do believe it is cycling related and not due solely to standing up at work. I am wondering if this issue is possible due to bike fit(which I feel is decent but not perfect), a muscle imbalance,posture while riding,or a combination of these and/or other factors.Has anyone else experienced this and does anyone know a resource or person to consult on this? Like I said, it is not terrible but is becoming increasingly uncomfortable as I ride harder. thanks for anyones help

Adrenalina Italiana
    Could be from climbing the Skyway and Dragon all those years.Really though,it could be caused by weakened abdominal muscles,which makes your back work extra hard.Or your back aches could be caused by the all important stem-check the length.I like a long tiller on my yacht's skipper too but there's a limit man.So check the stem and try some sit ups....see ya homie.
    " the odds are good, the goods are even odder."

RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2002

Core strength?

Quote Originally Posted by tellico climber