"Big Brands" vs. "Niche Brands"
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2011

"Big Brands" vs. "Niche Brands"

I'm relatively new to the road bike scene, I've been a long time mountain biker. In the world of mountain biking, there seems to be some people are stick to only buying "niche brands" (ie Yeti, Santa Cruz, Turner, etc). I've found this to be even more common in road biking, people will only look at brands like Pinarello and Colnago while ignoring the larger manufacturers like Trek, Giant, Specialized etc.

I'm not trying to express my opinion either way, I'm just looking to start a discussion about this. Do you only look at niche brands? Or only at bikes from big companies? Or are they all on the same level? Discuss.

RoadBikeReview Member
    I see alot of Big Brand bikes in my area. Personally, I'd rather ride a niche brand just to be different.
    2013 DeVinci Leo SL

Low rep power
    Part of this is dependent on what your local stores sell- and the number of bike vendors near you. Part is the herd mindset- exacerbated by advertising. Buy what fits and you can afford, and enjoy riding it. If someone doesn't like your choice, tell them they can buy the replacement.
    We'll be back soon, there will be more of us, and next time we won't be dropping leaflets.

“The problem with quotes on the internet is that it’s hard to verify their authenticity” – Abraham Lincoln

RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2008
    I've heard too many stories from local riders about some of the big brands not standing behind warranty, and I know of more than 1 guy that has broken multiple frames from the same manufacturer - though that one has replaced them each time. Either way, not a good track record.

Research before you buy.

RoadBikeReview Member