Cold weather gear
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Oct 2016

Cold weather gear

Hey everyone,
    I'm new to road cycling, I live in New England, I'm wondering what gear would be good to buy for cooler weather that's reasonable
    pricewise and where the best place to purchase would be. Not sure about on line stores as I wouldn't be able to try anything on or out. Any thoughts?

δanned
    Here in upstate NY it was a foggy 25F ride. I was in my full cold weather gear which was the following:

-Arm & leg warmers
    -Neoprene windproof shoe covers
    -Windproof gloves
    -Windproof jacket
    -Windproof face mask

I tend to find decent prices at places like Nashbar and Bike Tires Direct. Competitive Cyclist has good deals once in a while. The best prices on winter gear happen at beginning of spring when nobody needs it any more. If your budget is tight, I'd recommend buying a single set of things like the arm and leg warmers and then buying more in the spring when they're heavily discounted.
    Ghurarmu shirkush’ agh azgushu. Zant ya apakurizak. Gűl-n’ anakhizak.

Neophyte
    I would browse the Apparel and Cycling Clothes subforum, there will be a lot of pre-existing threads with good info in there:

Apparel and Cycling clothes

I have Assos, Sugoi, and Novarra (REI) winter caps, all of them work well. For real cold weather make sure you get a cap that covers the ears.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Oct 2013
    To stay reasonable, I'd leverage as much stuff as you currently have. This includes under layers, socks, etc.
    Same rules as summer though - no cotton. As long as you use wicking underlayers, you can build them up for as much warmth as needed. Nashbar sells a very reasonable winter cycling jacket, especially on sale - I own one of these in bright yellow, it delivers a lot of performance for the price
    Nashbar Derby Softshell Jacket