Custom paint job vs OEM
    RoadBikeReview Member

Custom paint job vs OEM

Hey everyone...

I have two options.

(1) buy an OEM custom painted frame or
    (2) get a ready-to-paint frame and have it professionally painted

I like the OEM custom-painted frame okay (cool design) but am not in love with it.

I have a color-scheme/design in mind for the custom paint, but just worried that the aftermarket paint scheme may not hold up as well. I know here in Ca, environmental laws are pretty strict and I've heard that they do NOT allow certain "hardeners" to be used when painting. Seems like without the hardeners, the paint could chip more easily and just not hold up as well? Peel? etc.

I am no paint expert by any means, but that's just what I've heard. The frame would be painted by a professional local painter who does pretty cool paint jobs, but just concerned about durability. BTW, it's a gravel bike so lots of off road stuff.

If you've had your bike custom painted or just knowledgeable about custom paint vs OEM paint, would love to hear your suggestions/inputs.

Thank you.
    EyeGuy

RoadBikeReview Member
    Enjoy the new bike but know it won't be new and pristine for long if you use it like it was designed to be used.

Even the OEM paint job will get scratched and chipped. It's unlikely the bike will be a lifer so just get what makes you happy and then ride the sh!t out of it. My lifer bike is unpainted Ti and each scratch on it is a story and well earned. If you want a painting to hang on a wall that's another story.

These guys do some great work and aren't in California. They did a great job on my track bike, which now has a chip in the front fork from the 2011 earthquake which triggered a tsunami that hit Fukushima and killed thousands. I think on the scale of things to worry about my bike's enduring finish is not that important. Good luck.
    Quote Originally Posted by Fredrico View Post
    It's full of factual errors. :nono:

RoadBikeReview Member