Does anyone have a homemade recipe for Assos cream?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Jul 2008

Does anyone have a homemade recipe for Assos cream?

It's sad but I'm spending too much money on these. I used one bottle every three weeks or so. I like to apply "directly to the skin" before riding. It's becoming an expensive pre-ride ritual.

Feb 2005
    I'm a fan of the Ass-os cream as well. A guy at a local shop tells me Noxema works like a budget Assos creme, but I haven't the guts to try it out...

RoadBikeReview Member
    I heard a piece of steak will work.

I heart team Zissou!
    Quote Originally Posted by Campag12

It's sad but I'm spending too much money on these. I used one bottle every three weeks or so. I like to apply "directly to the skin" before riding. It's becoming an expensive pre-ride ritual.
    diaper rash cream is what many racers use.
    Biking round the world -- Where have I been with my bike?

banned
    Nov 2001
    I've been making my own cream for 2 years now. After experimenting w/ different combos, this is my favorite:

walmart or target version of eucerin creme (in the 16oz tub)
    2- 1oz tubes of bacitracin or triple antibiotic (again, walmart or target brand)
    2- 1oz tubes of hydrocortizone (
    1 container of BLUE GOO (found it at walmart- has menthol for the "tingle")
    1 container of petroleum jelly

I dont have actual measurements of what I use for 1 container-- This all goes into one of those ziplock disposable 32oz tupperware containers.

I use about 3/4 of the eucerin tub, all of the bacitracin and hydrocortizone and about 1/3 of a tub of the blue goo. I also add about 2 tablespoons of the petroleum jelly to add to the thickness. Stir and season to taste (just kidding).