Early 90s Kestrel 200 SCI. Please HELP!
    RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2020

Early 90s Kestrel 200 SCI. Please HELP!

Hi everyone,

Newbie here. I recently purchased an early 90s 54cm Kestrel 200 SCI (guessing based on Shimano 600/6400 groupset) for $300. Unfortunately, brifters were changed to 105 flight deck (not sure of the model number). I hope that I'm not at a complete loss with this purchase (I think I may have paid too much): paint is pretty crappy (decals removed by 1st owner, I'm the 3rd owner)--no carbon breaks that I can tell (tested with a quarter for dead sounds), Shimano 600 groupset besides the brifters, Mavik Open 4 CD with Shimano 600 hubs & 9sp cassette, Nitto stem, FX Sakae handlebar, random comfort saddle with KORE aluminum seatpost.

I'm deferring to the wisdom of this forum for any upgrade recommendations that'll result in a smooth, fast ride. Not worried about weight. I'm currently quarantined in Santa Clara, CA, and I'm also looking for shop recommendations for a tune-up.

Hoping to invest no more than $600 into any suggested upgrades (wondering if that's even a smart move given the age/condition of this bike); can always move components to another frame later, but I love the curves of this classic frame. Thinking about wet sanding it to give it a raw carbon look (please let me know if that's a dumb idea). I have only ever owned one other full carbon bike: 2012 GT GTR Carbon Elite Shimano 105 groupset, so I'm still wet behind the ears with regards to road bikes.

I've read up on Bike Forums about the Kestrel 200 SCI in an attempt to understand what I've gotten myself into (buy now, worry later scenario). Any advice/suggestion is much appreciated!

-Steven

Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by stran1989; 3 Days Ago at 02:53 PM.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Oct 2013
    Looks pretty clean for that old of bike. I'd just clean it up and ride it. I'd get some acetone to clean up those grease marks (?).