frame size-toe overlap?

Apr 2005

frame size-toe overlap?

I'm totally new to roadbiking so bear with me if I sound stupid. A month ago, I bought my first (real) road bike. Well, because it was still winter, and I was buying the last leftover '04 at the shop, I failed to do a proper road test. Now I've taken my first ride and although the bike seems comfortable enough, my toes hit the front tyre while making tight turns. I've adjusted my cleats to put my feet further back on the pedals but that makes for uncomfortable pedaling. I called my LBS and they told me that all road bikes are like that and I probably will have to live with it. My friends tell me that your feet should NEVER hit the tyres. I've been mtb biking for years and the first thing I learned was there must be clearance between the front tyre and toe. Any suggestions?

GIMME MY BIKE!
    Quote Originally Posted by akit
    I'm totally new to roadbiking so bear with me if I sound stupid. A month ago, I bought my first (real) road bike. Well, because it was still winter, and I was buying the last leftover '04 at the shop, I failed to do a proper road test. Now I've taken my first ride and although the bike seems comfortable enough, my toes hit the front tyre while making tight turns. I've adjusted my cleats to put my feet further back on the pedals but that makes for uncomfortable pedaling. I called my LBS and they told me that all road bikes are like that and I probably will have to live with it. My friends tell me that your feet should NEVER hit the tyres. I've been mtb biking for years and the first thing I learned was there must be clearance between the front tyre and toe. Any suggestions?