Garmin 520 or Garmin Forerunner 920XT
    "Ride lots." ~ Eddy Merck

Garmin 520 or Garmin Forerunner 920XT

I ride a bike, more and more the last few years. I use to run all the time but as I started riding my bike more, I ran less and less. Well now I'm running more as I have a few clients that know my past and are urging me to run a Sprint Tri with them this spring. I was pretty set on getting a Garmin 520 to upgrade my wired Sigma. However now that my attention has been drawn back to running, I'm thinking if I going to lay down some coin for new gadgets I should maybe consider a dual sport Garmin. I was talking with an old running buddy, at a Thanksgiving 5K race, that also pedals around but still is a "runner" about finally getting a Garmin because he was fussing with his Garmin watch prior to the start of the race. He uses the same watch with his bike.

My question? What do you 2 sport or 3, I guess, athletes use? A bike computer and a Timex Triathlon or are you using a Garmin like the Forerunner 920?
    2012 Giant Defy Comp 3
    1982 UE-8 Peugeot "̶1̶0̶ ̶s̶p̶e̶e̶d̶"̶ 7 speed
    1982 Peugeot UE-18 Mixte SS

Neophyte
    I think a lot of multi-sport people use multiple devices. I know my friend who is big int triathlons loves his 920XT but also has an Edge on his bike and he'll use both at the same time. Maybe for backup, maybe to spread the load over multiple sensors that he uses, I forget.

I would say this:
    -Whatever you get, have GPS+GLONASS, not just GPS. The 920XT does have GPS+GLONASS.
    -If you get a watch, MAKE SURE you can set cycling average cadence to use non-zero average.

I have a Garmin Fenix2... it works okay, I'm not getting rid of it, but GPS signal is suspect under any sort of tree cover. It does not have GLONASS. But what I really HATE about it is that cycling average cadence is calculated counting zero cadence.