Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

Giant Defy 1 Vs. Defy Advanced 3

48K views 10 replies 11 participants last post by  Carverbiker 
#1 ·
I was at a Giant store last week and had planned to purchase a Defy 1 which they ordered for me but has yet to arrive. I stopped in and tried out a Defy advanced 3 in my size and they have it reduced (last year's model) to where it is only a few hundred more than the defy 1.

My question is what are the potential disadvantages of a Carbon frame?
The fellow setting the bikes up made a joke that if the seatpost wasn't tightened properly and it dropped abruptly - it would shatter the frame... it got me thinking if I am not loosing something by passing over the Allux frame...?
I am a complete beginner and will be riding out on country roads - I live the norhteast - roads have bumps and cracks andd there is gravel now and then scattered throughout as well.
Otherwise - they both have the 105 Group - so is it worth the additional 700.00 CAD for the Defy advanced carbon frame and is there is tradeoff in terms of the carbon frame being more delicate and not standing up well over time?
I apologize in advance for the rookie Q's that you experienced folks have probably answered over and over - thx in advance.

#4 ·
having ridden a Defy 1, I'd rather spend the money in the frame and go carbon. even with a carbon fork, the jarring ride quality of the aluminum defy's is something that's going to be hard to eliminate. 25c tires and wide wheels may do it but I sold my Defy (and went Ti, primarily for ride quality) before i could go with 23mm wide wheels and 25's.

#5 ·
I have a Defy Advanced with Dura Ace & love it. Last year I rode across the U.S. with it. I've never had a problem with it. I treat it just like any of my other bikes which are steel. I use'em but don't abuse'em.

I can't remember who has the signature that goes something like ,"It ain't a teacup that the queen gave you. It's a bike-go ride it." My apologies to the original author.