Lance new TT position

Mar 2002

Lance new TT position

This was probably discussed some time ago, but through the wonder of PhotoShop and the resources of being a journalist, I've cropped a couple of shots showing the difference in Lance's new TT position. He has obviously been influenced by Ullrich and the now reconstituted ONCE team, whose Giant TT bikes sported seriously low, completely horizontal TT bars. This of course, flattens the back even further lowering wind resistance. Look at the extreme "scoop" angle of Lance's back in his new position, forming a more compact arc over the top. In his previous position, there was a noticeable high-low drop off from his upper back to his butt. For mere mortals, this new TT position would just cause one hell of a backache.

Without further adu ...
    Attached Images Attached Images

BS the DC
    Looks about the same to me ... the angle of his arms, his horizontal forearms, the angle of his back ... the "scoop" is an optical illusion. The pictures are not taken from the exact same vantage point.

May 2002
    He's like that cause he has that type of back. It's not voluntarily.

Mar 2002

Ullrich and Nozal's TT position

I couldn't find a profile shot of Isidro's TT positon, but you can still see from this angle that the bars are either completely horizontal or, in Ullirich's case slightly angled downward. It seems to me that Lance is working to achieve a similar flat-back profile. Everyone knows that Lance's back is slightly hunched b/c of years of cycling, but both of these competitor's TT profiles are flatter and lower. Just my 10 cents ...
    Attached Images Attached Images

Feb 2004
    Although these photos are not taken from the same vantage point it does seem that Lancie-boy is a bit more compact with the new setup... ?
    "I don't know, trying is the first step towards failure." -Homer

BS the DC