Looking for My First Real Bike
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Dec 2019

Looking for My First Real Bike

Hi, I am a high school student looking for my first good bike. I have been using a walmart Schwinn for the past few years and I want something new. I mostly bike around the city of Phoenix and mainly stay on the streets. But, I do cut through some parks, go over bridges, and go off curbs, so I need a hybrid bike that can handle some minor offroading. I've been looking at quite a few different bikes and I need some advice on what would be best. Thanks!

Want
    -$400-600 (preferrably)
    -lightweight
    -will last me a good ten years or so
    -able to handle going off curbs or through grass
    -fast (it's subjective, I know, but it would be nice)
    -fun and easy to ride (will encourage me to ride more)

Don't Want
    -a mountain bike
    -suspension
    -a fixie (I do travel on some inclines)
    -a drop bar bike
    -steel frame
    -twist shifters

What I've been looking at
    -Specialized Sirrus Disc (tried it in a store and shifts felt smooth)
    -Raleigh Cadent 1
    -Trek FX 1 (tried it in store, but didn't like the shifter)
    -Raleigh Redux 1 (might be good for going around the city, might be more offroading focused than I need though)
    -Marin Fairfax 1 (I have seen good reviews, seems like a good price)
    -Marin Presidio 1 (out of my price range, but I like the 3 speed internal gearbox)
    -open to any other recommendations

RoadBikeReview Member
    Nov 2013
    I suggest looking at your local Craigslist and seeing what's available there that might suit your needs. You'll likely find a much better used bike than what you could afford in a new bike. Bikes are horrible investments and lose their value very quickly.