Race geometry vs. relaxed or endurance geometry?
    mm9
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2009

Race geometry vs. relaxed or endurance geometry?

Let's have a discussion about bike frame geometry. When I first started looking at new drop bar road bikes, i thought endurance frame would be the way to go. (I'm in my mid 50's with a stiff neck and upper back from a lifetime of adventure and sports abuse). But, the more I ride my old vintage bike - the more I like the geometry.

What are your experiences and preferences with bike geometry?

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jun 2014
    I started riding 10 months ago, and the last 3 months have been very limited. I went with relaxed geo based on the LBS recommendation. I am looking for exercise and fun, not racing. My back and hamstrings are very flexible. I can touch the floor with a closed fist. However, I should lose 25-30 lbs and I don't have nearly as much flexibility in my hip flexors or my neck. So 2 things happen when I am in the drops. First my neck and traps get fatigued very quickly. More importantly, I lose power. I have a hard time efficiently getting my thigh through the top part of the rotation. The very top and front on my hips get a good burn too.

A this point, I am not sure getting a more aggressive geo would help me. I've read on this forum that the body takes a good long time to adapt and be more cycling efficient. If I lose the belly and strengthen and stretch my hip flexors I'd be open to a more aggressive geo if that type of bike can take bumpy roads just as comfortably as my relaxed bike.

For some reason, my gut tells me that the two usually go together. More race oriented bike will be a harsher ride than the relaxed. But I don't see why it would HAVE to be that way.

Forever a Student
    Old bikes didn't really have much of a drop from the seat to the bars. How much is the drop between the two on your bike?