Replacing road bike with cyclocross bike for a serious road racer?
    RoadBikeReview Member

I know this question has been asked many times before, but I want to know if it'd be a good idea or not given that I'm not a recreational rider but a serious road racer and want to use it in road races.

I also know that many of you will say "why get a cross bike when a road bike will do the job much better?" but I have my reasons. First, I'm a poor college student who wants to reduce the stable down to 2 bikes. Second, after getting a MTB (the bike I'd be keeping over the road bike) and enjoying the awesomeness of trails and traffic-less gravel roads/fire roads, I'll never be truly happy with a bike that's confined to the pavement only again. Thirdly, I love the idea of a bike that does it all. Lastly, I'm open to trying some cyclocross racing.

So my question is if I get a cross bike that's as close to a road bike as possible (carbon, canti/mini V brakes, steep angles and relatively low BB such as the Specialized Crux) will it hold me back when I race road, and would it be a good idea? I'll also be changing out the gearing to road gearing, as well as the tires.
    Last edited by Soundtallica; 09-04-2014 at 11:47 AM.

RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2010
    The typical gearing and tires of a cross bike would be a handicap for road racing.
    You could change the crank and tires depending what types of rides you'll be doing though.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Quote Originally Posted by Jay Strongbow View Post
    The typical gearing and tires of a cross bike would be a handicap for road racing.
    You could change the crank and tires depending what types of rides you'll be doing though.
    Thanks! I realize that already and forgot to put it in my original post.

RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2012