Road Bike Mini/Frame Pump Help for Newbie!

Sep 2004

Road Bike Mini/Frame Pump Help for Newbie!

I'm new to road biking (training for my mountain bike), but I know from talking to others that flats are a regular occurence. I know I need to carry tire levers, a couple of tubes, and a pump on any reasonablly-sized ride. I'm not quite sure about what type of pump I need. I know I'll need to be around 100-120 psi, which is too high for my MTB mnni pump. I've only seen a few mni pumps that go that high in pressure, none of which have integrated guages. I've only seen one frame pump with a guage.

What does everyone use for their pump? I would think that you need to know your pressure accurately when re-inflating your tires. If you use inflators or pumps without guages, how do you know the pressure? Can you buy small, lighweight air guages for presta valves?

Thanks,

Chris

RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2004

Co2..

I've used nothing but a CO2 inflator for many years. I use the cheap 12 gram Crosman cartridges from WalMart. I put one in the inflator, upside down so it won't get punctured and carry two more, fastened together with a rubber band. The 12G cartridge will produce enough pressure to get you home (about 90 psi). The inflators that use a 16G cartridege will produce about 130 psi.

If you use a pump, don't worry about over inflating. You'll be too tired from pumping to do that. Just use your thumb to gage the hardness of the tire.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2002

No answer

As to what to use, you will not find consensus. Us old timers totally prefer full sized frame pumps, claiming that "good mini-pump" is an oxymoron. Others report good results with a wide range of mini-pumps. Another group is the CO2 folks, who claim great success and dis pumps as a waste of time, effort, and carried weight. The arguments are something like this: