Road incline

Thread: Road incline

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2004

Road incline

I am new to the GPS cycle computer thing. Do any of them accurately display the incline (or decline) of the road you are riding on?

RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2010
    Quote Originally Posted by ivanthetrble View Post
    I am new to the GPS cycle computer thing. Do any of them accurately display the incline (or decline) of the road you are riding on?
    Yes.

I know a guy I ride with has that feature but that's all I can tell you. (actually I'm not positive he has declines but know for sure his thing reports incline)

tlg
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Do any of them accurately display
    Yes they show the grade. Positive or negative.

How do you define "accurately"?

For most purposes they are accurate enough.
    On really short/steep sections, they don't always get the grade right. I believe it's due to the barometric sensor not being fast or accurate enough to sense the changes.

Over the course of an entire ride the total recorded elevation can vary 20% from one device to another.
    Custom Di2 & Garmin/GoPro mounts 2013 SuperSix EVO Hi-MOD Team * 2004 Klein Aura V

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2004
    I have noticed that with our Apple watches. My wife and I will go out for a morning ride, ride the exact same route, riding together at the same pace, and when we get home one of us will have climbed 650 feet and the other may vary by 50-75 feet.

tlg
    RoadBikeReview Member
    I have noticed that with our Apple watches. My wife and I will go out for a morning ride, ride the exact same route, riding together at the same pace, and when we get home one of us will have climbed 650 feet and the other may vary by 50-75 feet.
    This will explain it in more detail
    https://www.correrunamaraton.com/en/...ter-barometer/
    Custom Di2 & Garmin/GoPro mounts 2013 SuperSix EVO Hi-MOD Team * 2004 Klein Aura V

RoadBikeReview Member
    Oct 2013