so I lost a bunch of weight
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Jan 2006

so I lost a bunch of weight

over the past 6-7 months, and now all I get are comments about "how tired I look", "how skinny I am", "don't lose any more weight", etc, etc. Here's the deal:
    I am 38, and since about 20, i weighed 200-215. up until 3 years ago I was really into heavy weightlifting(you know big bench, etc). I weighed 215 and wore a 46 jacket. I am 5'11. I started training/racing seriously 2 seasons ago and coming into this year I decided that I needed to improve my BF, and my power/weight. So I slimmed down a bit. at 186 I measured out at 9% BF. I am 180 today and am probably 7-8% BF. so at 180, 5'11, I'm not exactly looking like a castaway. I am quite vascular. I still have biceps and a chest. I though the "lean" look was in? Not to mentioned that for the first time in years I can buy a normal shirt and not look like a stuffed sausage. But I'm sick of all the comments. I don't plan to go lower then 180. does anybody else get these comments?

Yo no fui.
    I think you look great. Don't let the fact that we've never met both you.

I have a friend from Nebraska. He's about 6'1 or so and weighs 165-170 lbs and is fit as a fiddle, as they say. Back in the homeland, he's always getting comments about how he looks emaciated. No such comments in Colorado. It's all relative.

Plus, our view of "normal" is skewed by the fact that 66% or so of the population is overweight.
    "It is better to conquer yourself, than to win a thousand battles." -Dhammapada

"Fact is only what you believe; fact and fiction work as a team." Jack Johnson

"A true cyclist sometimes has to bite the dust before he can reach the stars.” Laurent Fignon

Formosan Cyclocross
    People are used to the heavy version.