Is there help to smooth out ride?
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2010

Is there help to smooth out ride?

I'm new to the road bike scene, so maybe there is just an adjustment period I'm going through. However, it just seems like I'm getting beat up some riding. I've only ridin 110 miles with the farthest one-time stretch being 12 miles. I ride 25% on street and 75% on concrete paved bike path. I ride an entry level Fuji Roubaix. I know coming from my mtb which has a front shock, wider tires, and less air pressure in those tires, but man I feel every little bump and crease in the pavement on my roadie-hands kinda hurt, lower back hurts-it just feels like a very rough ride.

I'm I just going through the adjustment period or are there things I can do to the bike that would comfort the ride?

Dan

RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2008
    The same thing you do on the mountain bike. Bigger (wider) tires if possible, lower pressure (still higher than the mountain bike).

RoadBikeReview Member
    Sep 2009
    yeah, tires and pressure.

Better wheels can help too but the price per benefit isn't as attractive there.

banned
    + more comfortable Saddle, try Gel on your handlebars and thicker bar tape (possibly with Gel inserts in the tape itself like Fizik's).

And, yes. Definitely there is an adjustment period.
    If you ride once a week, you'll be re-adjusting all the time.

You need to put in some regular riding almost daily even if it's just 15-30 minutes.

Keep those new "roadie" muscles loose once you get them loose.
    Last edited by 2ndGen; 03-10-2010 at 06:35 AM.

Probably slower than you.
    I've also found that concrete paths can hurt more than the road. There are a lot of seams on those paths and each one hits rythmically, eventually causing pain. Asphalt has a bit more give than concrete and a lot less of those seams. I avoid paths when possible.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Apr 2005