Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

Tire Pressure Myths

8K views 34 replies 18 participants last post by  SantaCruz 
#1 ·
Tire pressure is an area that I think makes a huge difference in my performance. Recently I used to run about 80 to 90 psi, but I found that when I increased my pressure to 110 psi, I could feel so much less rolling resistance with my 160 lb body mass. Oftentimes I’ve increased the pressure to 120 psi and I can feel the benefits even more. Luddite I am not, but I think the latest talk on wide tires and low pressure is bunk. Last ride I pumped the tires up to 130 psi, and based on the results I know I’m right. I think I’m going to try 140 psi this weekend and go back to my 23c Michelins. No way am I going back to the inefficient squishiness of 80 psi. Granted, I’m not a pro but I can now maintain 24 mph for several hours, so how can my findings be wrong?

#3 ·
Tire pressure is an area that I think makes a huge difference in my performance. Recently I used to run about 80 to 90 psi, but I found that when I increased my pressure to 110 psi, I could feel so much less rolling resistance with my 160 lb body mass. Oftentimes I’ve increased the pressure to 120 psi and I can feel the benefits even more. Luddite I am not, but I think the latest talk on wide tires and low pressure is bunk. Last ride I pumped the tires up to 130 psi, and based on the results I know I’m right. I think I’m going to try 140 psi this weekend and go back to my 23c Michelins. No way am I going back to the inefficient squishiness of 80 psi. Granted, I’m not a pro but I can now maintain 24 mph for several hours, so how can my findings be wrong?
What findings? You have no actual data...just a gut hunch that has been proven to be wrong empirically unless you're on a smooth-as-silk velodrome.

#6 ·
I bought some 23 Vreds that had a top limit of 175 psi stamped on the side.