Tubular Tire Questions
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Mar 2004

Tubular Tire Questions

I"ve been riding for years but have always stayed away from tubular tires b/c I've heard about some drawbacks for everyday riding. I have little to no knowledge or understanding about how they work and what the perceived drawbacks may be. Can someone help out? Specifically, are they good for everyday use? Can you change on the road if you get a flat? Any difference in feel from clinchers? Any other pertinent info. would help me out. Thanks.

RoadBikeReview Member
    First off, no, they are not good for everyday use, they are superior though for track racing...will you be doing any of that? I didn't think so!!! I rode and raced on tubulars for 15 year, then about 15 years ago I switched to clinchers and I have no regrets! BUT before the dogs of war come and chew my head off, please read these web sites and then decide.

http://draco.acs.uci.edu/rbfaq/FAQ/8b.17.html read the conclusion towards the end.
    http://www.sheldonbrown.com/tires.html written by Sheldon Brown
    http://www.yarchive.net/bike/tubulars.html written by Jobst Brandt