Weight loss/gain and building muscle
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    RoadBikeReview Member

Weight loss/gain and building muscle

When I started riding I figured my "perfect riding weight" to be 122.5 to 125 pounds. I'm 5'5". I made it down to 120 pounds and mostly hold steady there with the occasional drop to 119 or gain to 121. I don't want to lose more but I don't want to gain either, especially if it's fat. I seem to have gained a pound the last few days (that is staying) and was wondering if since I'm working out harder now with cooler weather if it's possible I have used up all the fat and starting to gain a little muscle weight? I'm eating the same and working out more. I have also added some more weight training for my upper body and I have started training for two 5K runs in October and November. I'm taking in around 1600 to 1800 calories a day and working off a lot of that. I am also taking in more protein, so I shouldn't gain any weight, right?

The weird thing is that my measurements are staying almost where they were when I hit 120 pounds and my jeans are looser now than they were when I hit 120. I'm SO scared of gaining anything after all the work to get it off but I know that gaining muscle is important. So, do I need to gain weight to gain muscle if the fat is mostly gone? Right now my upper thighs are only 20", lower thighs above knees are 15", calves are 12.5" and biceps are 10.5" so there is obviously NO fat left. Total inches lost on hips is about 10" and waist is about 6". I went from 162lbs. to 120lbs. and from size 14/16 to size 8 pants.
    2013 Trek 7.3
    2015 Specialized Jynx 27.5 MTB

RoadBikeReview Member
    Awesome! That is great! You are killing it!