What color do you wear?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Mar 2014

What color do you wear?

I am fairly new to the road bike scene and really loving it (1300 miles in 5 months). I am just a little curious. Maybe this has been discussed before, but...

There seems to be an increasing trend in my area (Nor Cal with many bicyclists) of riders wearing all black or other very drab colors. Much of the riding here is in and out of shadowy forest, and I have a hard time seeing these folks. I almost hit one as I pulled out of my driveway in my truck a couple of days ago. He REALLY blended in to the background in the dappled light. I feel pretty vulnerable out there myself in fairly bright jerseys. Neon may be overdoing it, but it just seems smart to wear at least something that stands out a bit to make it a little easier for motorists to see you. Is there more to this issue that I am not aware of?

RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2003
    Quote Originally Posted by jeff400650 View Post
    ...it just seems smart to wear at least something that stands out a bit to make it a little easier for motorists to see you. Is there more to this issue that I am not aware of?
    You're correct, and there's not more to the issue other than black being a popular marketing trend by clothing (and bike) manufacturers.

Devoid of all flim-flam
    I agree with you a bunch. To me, the current fashion to wear black is horribly misguided.
    Mapie is a conventional looking former Hollywood bon viveur, now leading a quiet life in a house made of wood by an isolated beach. He has cultivated a taste for culture, and is a celebrated raconteur amongst his local associates, who are artists, actors, and other leftfield/eccentric types. I imagine he has a telescope, and an unusual sculpture outside his front door. He is also a beach comber. The Rydster.

RoadBikeReview Member