What road bike to buy ? And on budget :)
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Mar 2019

What road bike to buy ? And on budget :)

I'm trying to buy a new road bike, this is my first time to buy a bike and i dont know what to buy. Any suggestion ?? My budget is only $300 - $600

Sent from my CPH1727 using Tapatalk

Rub it............
    Most manufacturers have bikes at the top end of your budget. Head to your local LBS and test ride.

I've always advised customers that 1/3 of the budget should be for accessories. My suggestion is to save a little longer so you have the funds to purchase the add ons - spare tube, seat bag, inflation kit (pump or CO2), cyclometer, helmet, clothes, etc.
    You can't fix stupid.

Quote Originally Posted by JoeDaddio

I kind of wish it were legal to staple people in the face.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Quote Originally Posted by juliusciptajaya2000 View Post
    I'm trying to buy a new road bike, this is my first time to buy a bike and i dont know what to buy. Any suggestion ?? My budget is only $300 - $600
    Question. Is there a reason you want a road bike? Do you have cycling goals and/or expectations?

[REDACTED]
    When you say this is your first time buying a bike, are you saying you're new to biking? What is your riding history? Do you ride in a bike share or are you new to riding?

$300-600 won't get you more than a used bike or a knock-off brand. Even a new steel entry level road bike from a reputable brand will run you $700:

https://www.jamisbikes.com/usa/questsport.html

Good solid bike, but heavy as road bikes go. More money will get you better componentry and less weight. Also, as ferdfandc said, you will need to budget in necessary accessories like a helmet, clothes, spare tubes, seat bag, inflation kit (pump or CO2), cyclometer, etc.

If you have a good bike shop near you, head on over there and test ride some bikes.