What's new in the world of saddles?
    ( ͡ ͜ʖ ͡)

What's new in the world of saddles?

I've been riding the same 2 saddles for about 10 years now, and they've simply become uncomfortable for me. The oldest one, a Selle Italia tri saddle, has begun to wear down my shirts; the newest one, a Bontrager (from a Gary Fisher road bike) just sits weird under my sitbones and causes enduring pain lasting for days after even the shortest ride. Both saddles were perfectly comfortable in the past; that's why I ultimately stuck with both of em for so long.

So, since I've been out of the saddle market for 10ish years, I have no idea what's out there anymore. Can you fine folks kindly point me in the right direction?
    I lost my phone number. Can I have yours?

RoadBikeReview Member
    Apr 2011
    You can try this direction.

RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2010
    I don't know then Selle Smp hit the scene in the US but their design is the only thing I can think of that you might view as new in a meaningful way.

Doesn't sound like carbon rails and other weight weenie things are what you care about but there's that too.

pmf
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2004
    I picked up a Selle Italia Flite saddle in the early 1990's and have been riding them ever since. Many of us panicked when Selle Italia reinvented it in the 2000's, only to come back with the original a few years later. You can find them for $80-$100 around the web.

I have been intrigued by this company's custom saddle, but a little afraid to try it since they're almost $300 -- and if I got one and loved it, I'd need to buy three more. They get rave reviews (see a recent velonews article)

https://www.meld3d.com/

( ͡ ͜ʖ ͡)
    Quote Originally Posted by Jay Strongbow View Post
    I don't know then Selle Smp hit the scene in the US but their design is the only thing I can think of that you might view as new in a meaningful way.