Why can't I slow down?

Apr 2006

Why can't I slow down?

I've been riding for 7 years and have always had this one nagging problem - I ride too fast (pedal masher).

We have an interstate paved bike path here which is EXTREMELY flat and I have no trouble going for a couple hours plus.

When I ride around town with the hills, however, I seem to crap out at an hour and a half. I have become accustomed to an ungodly amount of resistance on the pedals, and now it feels normal.

I constantly try to make myself slow down, but if I'm not mashing I feel like I'm going at a snail's pace and the ride doesn't feel as fun.

Any tips?

RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2004
    Build a fixed gear.

No team-cest unless 8+!
    Quote Originally Posted by namrufmot
    I've been riding for 7 years and have always had this one nagging problem - I ride too fast (pedal masher).

We have an interstate paved bike path here which is EXTREMELY flat and I have no trouble going for a couple hours plus.

When I ride around town with the hills, however, I seem to crap out at an hour and a half. I have become accustomed to an ungodly amount of resistance on the pedals, and now it feels normal.

I constantly try to make myself slow down, but if I'm not mashing I feel like I'm going at a snail's pace and the ride doesn't feel as fun.

Any tips?

Get a computer with a cadence function.

Then never settle for anything less than 95rpm.

Back from the dead
    Why change?

Jan 2006
    I agree if you're just riding around town then what does it matter? The aim is to have fun so if you enjoy mashing then mash away!

Although personally I like spinning and especially like seeing the people's faces as I leisurely spin past them on hills while they are busy mashing away and huffing & puffing like they are trying to blow the little pig's house down!

Nov 2004

Any tips?