Check geometry on small frame Jamis Eclipse Bikes
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2008

Check geometry on small frame Jamis Eclipse Bikes

I have been riding a 51cm Xenith comp for the last three years. I really enjoyed the way in handled, great bike. Got the hankering for a steel bike so purchased a 51cm Eclipse frame set this winter. Checked the geometry against the xenith and found it to be pretty close so figured the ride would handle pretty much the same.

After assembling the bike I was not all that happy with the handling. Then I went back to the geometry chart and realized where I went wrong. This was entirely my fault but perhaps I can prevent someone else from making the same mistake. In the Eclipse line the smaller frames use a slacker head tube angle. In the case of the 51cm it is 72 degrees. For reasons know only to Jamis they use the same 43 mm fork for all the frame sizes. This means on my 51cm frame the trail is 65mm while on a 56 cm frame the trail is 58 mm. Most bike companies keep a constant trail across all frame sizes, not Jamis! Jamis's marketing claim for "size specific tubing" says all size bikes will ride the same. How can that happen with different amounts of trail?

Kicked in another 500 bucks for a 50mm rake ENVE fork and now have a bike that handles like a dream. Wrote an email to Jamis asking them to comment but they ain't talking. So if you are interested in a quick handling bike in a small frame size, the Eclipse isn't it unless you change the fork

RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2011
    Oldbiker,