Jamis vs. Surly

Printable View

• 02-22-2008
    slockwoo
    Jamis vs. Surly
    Hi,

I'm new to this site but not new to cycling. However, I'm looking to up it a notch. I've been commuting for a few years on an old mountain bike with slick tires (theft proof for parking outside in the city). I also ride a mountain bike. This year I've got some new cycling goals and I'm looking to purchase a new road bike or a cross bike.

I seem to be narrowed down to three bikes.
    a. Surly Cross Check
    b. Quest Jamis
    c. Quest Nova / Supernova bikes

My cycling goals with this bike are:
    1. ride to three centuries this summer, two supported charity rides, one non supported.
    2. 2009 perimeter ride (500+ miles in one week)
    3. All the training required to accomplish goals 1, 2, and 3.

About me:
    I'm female and 5'3". I am not a racer and as much as I continue to grow (I never imagined myself running until I started doing 5Ks two years ago), I feel very confident in saying the word NEVER when it comes to road racing. I'm also unlikely to ever race cross, but there is a slim possiblity so I'm thinking the lighter cross bike? The reason I'm considering a cross at all is because I'm told it will be more comfortable for me. I am concerned about toe overlap though. The quest is the only femm specific bike. Does that really matter though?

The reason I'm posting here and not in the beginner is because I wanted to have some experienced opinions.

Thanks in advance.
  • 02-22-2008
    wooglin
    Are you going to be commuting on this? Have you ridden these frames to see which is more comfortable?

I just helped my sweetie pick out a bike, and she went with a Jamis Quest. We thought about the Cross Check, but although she'll be riding centuries she doesn't commute and won't be racing cross. A straight road bike was a better choice for her. FWIW, I really liked the Quest. Good bang for the buck.
  • 02-22-2008
    dphoenix