Hello,

I though I'd join the Jamis forum, since I'm now a Jamis owner. I recently bought a 2009 Jamis Ventura Comp. I've been riding mtb, mainly xc, since 1993. This is my first road bike, so take that into consideration with my thoughts on the bike so far. I've done one 28 mile group ride, averaging 22-23mph, and a few miles around the neighborhood getting used to the bike.

What I was looking for was an entry level road bike that basically had a decent frame and fork. I'm not too concerned with componentry, as long as I can ride the bike. I'll be swapping everything out for what I want anyways. That's just what I enjoy doing. I think the Ventura fills that requirement, even though the frameset is a little heavy, at ~2150g for 51cm. I'm guessing at the weight based off of frameset weights I requested from Jamis. The total weight of my bike, with two alloy bottle cages and Candy SL pedals is 21.8lbs.

Link to spec sheet

The frame and fork feel good. The bike is not squirrely, and goes where I want it to, almost intuitively. I'm 150lbs, by the way. Minor road imperfections are not felt, and other things like train tracks just feel like bumps. Although, I am attempting to unload weight as each wheel crosses something like that. The welds look great, and the paint looks good. I'll wax the frame and fork; hopefully that will help prevent scratches and paint chips.