Litespeed Classic???
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2010

Litespeed Classic???

From what I understand, the Litespeed Classic was made from 1996 to 2004.

Are all the Classics the same? I know there was a 1 1/8 headset change in 2001, but other than that, are they all the same??

RoadBikeReview Member
    Sep 2010
    No, there was all sorts of variation. Tube diameter, dropouts, cable guides, braze ons.

RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2010
    Quote Originally Posted by rx-79g
    No, there was all sorts of variation. Tube diameter, dropouts, cable guides, braze ons.
    Thanks for the reply. I am aquiring a 1996 Classic. Just want to see what the changes were from 1996, to 2004, the last year.

Looks like it is homework time... Plus, I am a newbie too...

Thanks again,

RoadBikeReview Member
    Sep 2010
    Litespeed has old catalog PDFs on their site. They're big - right click; save target as.

RoadBikeReview Member
    I have the 2000 Classic. If you want any specific feedback about ride quality, or things along those lines,feel free to send me a PM.

DrD
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2000
    I'm bored - so here goes from the catalog, anyway -

1997 - lost Ti-6-4 BB shell, added welded shift bosses, changed seat stays, small geometry changes, all use 4.3cm rake forks, a little heavier (quarter pound for most sizes)

1998 - top of seat tube is sculpted/curved instead of flat, chainstays lengthened

1999 - added integrated cable adjusters at head tube

2000 - new dropouts (with the cutout as an "L"), curved chain stays, engraved BB shell (with "Litespeed" written on it), slightly longer wheelbase, slightly lighter, fork rake change from all 4.3 to 4.5 (small frames) or 4cm (larger frames)

2004 - seat collar (instead of integrated bolt), clamp on front der., dropouts don't have "L" anymore, biaxially ovalized downtube, think it has an 1 1/8" head tube as well

Burnum Upus Quadricepus