A KG's Road to Recovery.
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Jan 2020

Cool A KG's Road to Recovery.

Hello all,

Promised some friendlies here a bit of a re-build thread for a project bike I acquired last week. Before we get started however I would like to state.

A - I am not a pro at this by any means. I have done a few Triathlons and honestly fell out of shape 2 years ago when my commuter/training bike was stolen. Part of my goal is to have as much invested into this bike and care for it enough that it too is worth as much to me as that bike was with our 20 year history (originally bought it for commuting around college campus).

B - This bike cost me (before any of this work) $88 through a local police action. It has been used and abused, but is such a diamond in the rough I couldn't ignore it... I hope too that whoever acquires my stolen bike at a police auction is able to provide a happy and healthy nurturing home for the orphan it became during the process. I am not an advocate for buying stolen goods... but once in the police's hands and run through their serial number database... there is not much more they can do for the owner. Therefore... Register your bikes with your PD!!!

C - I am looking to restore the bike to useable (commuter/trainer) condition, NOT fresh off the factory floor, never been ridden, sell for a mint condition.

D - I am looking to do this cost-effectively, but not per-se "on the cheap".

Feel free to provide input as I could use the advice! But please avoid the negativity. My race bike is a few years old and I put way more money into it than I should have. This is not that bike and is not intended to be.

It took a bit to identify, but it started life as a 2003 LOOK KG281 Yellow on CF.

Off the factory floor it looked something like this:

As acquired from the Police Auction it looks like this:

Looking to do an "Electric Blue" with black (CF exposed where I can)... not set in stone on this yet.