car speakers
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: car speakers

RoadBikeReview Member

car speakers

Considering an upgrade from the Bose. As mentioned in another long-ago, far-away thread, the sound is disappointingly flat. We're thisclose to having a kick-ass sound system, if only the speakers were better.

So I'm consulting the oracle- what do you guys suggest? We are complete noobs with little idea where to begin. Somebody in an Infiniti forum suggests Audiobahn or Infinity brands. Here's what somebody else listed:

Rainbow: Power Line CMX 265 ($300)
    Morel: Tempo 6 ($240)
    Diamond Audio: M661 or D661 ($200-$230)
    Focal: Polyglass 165 V1 or V2 ($230)
    Boston Acoustics: SL60 ($225)
    Image Dynamics: CXS64 ($360)
    CDTAudio: CL62 ($250)
    Infinity: Kappa ($230)

RoadBikeReview Member
    Just call Crutchfield

RoadBikeReview Member
    Before you start shopping for speakers, you'll want to determine what (if any) modifications will be required to make them compatible. AFAIK, Bose systems use proprietary amplification, which isn't necessarily friendly with aftermarket components.

Of the speakers you've listed, I've had personal experience with high-end Focal and Kappa components. Both sound great with a decent amplifier driving them, but fail to impress when directly powered by factory or even aftermarket head units. If you're running less than 40-50 watts RMS per channel, you'd probably be better off with something in the Infinity Reference range.

Finally (now I know I'm getting long-winded), audio is very subjective. Specs and online reviews are all well and good, but without hearing the speaker in person, you won't know if it will sound good to you. I personally hate sharp sounding speakers, while other people love them.

My .02. Or .03.

Beetpull DeLite
    I'd leave it alone unless you're replacing everything. Personally I don't think it would be worth it, especially if nothing's blown.