Cell phone carrier issues.
    Russian Troll Farmer

Cell phone carrier issues.

Now, I'm an engineer by training, but my expertise falls far short of cell phone technology. I've been a customer of Verizon for better than a decade now, and my current plan gives us 5gb/month for 2 [email protected]$$ smartphones, of which we never use more than 3gb, and have never had an overage.

I've become accustom to using Waze when commuting; not for route planning, but rather to give me a 'heads up' of accidents, backups, police activity, construction, etc. Once in a while when there is a severe backup, I'll ask Waze to give me an alternate route.

For the last 3 weeks, Waze has been failing me every afternoon at just about 3:40, right in the middle of my afternoon commute. By about 4:15, it works fine again. It ONLY happens at that time (it's also happened on weekends when I get near all the strip malls in one certain area), and I KNOW that it's because my carrier is 'throttling' me.

So, I'm not sure what to do. I COULD get a fancier (more expensive) plan, but is there any guarantee that will result in them giving me more bandwidth when I need it? I could change carriers, but how can I find out if they would just end up doing this to me as well? At the very least, I will send a message to Verizon letting them know that I'm on to their game, and I'm not happy, but short of that, what are my options here?
    "L'enfer, c'est les autres"

tlg
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Quote Originally Posted by No Time Toulouse View Post
    For the last 3 weeks, Waze has been failing me every afternoon at just about 3:40, right in the middle of my afternoon commute. By about 4:15, it works fine again. It ONLY happens at that time (it's also happened on weekends when I get near all the strip malls in one certain area), and I KNOW that it's because my carrier is 'throttling' me.
    How do you KNOW it's them throttling you and not a Waze issue?